What does the Bible say about Homemaking?

What does the Bible say about Homemaking?

One may think that the bible remains silent on the role of a woman. Has the bible really been listen or are we just not listening or have an ear to listen.

While reading a blog post recently the author quoted a verse from the bible that was quite literally shocking to me. After reading and researching for myself, I came to the inevitable conclusion…”you can’t get any clearer than that!”

I’m sure you’re waiting with baited breath to hear what the verse is…

Titus chapter 2 in my bible has the heading ” Sound Doctrine for Excellence of Character,” and it is in these verses that the statement in question lies. It is interesting that this chapter would have this heading as we are also reminded that character is the only thing that we can bring to heaven.

Verse 3-4 carries an admonition to older women for the example they should set for younger women…

The aged women likewise, that they be in behaviour as becometh holiness, not false accusers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things;

That they may teach the young women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children,

To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed.

I read this and then looked up what the word keepers at home meant in the original greek.

Here is what it said…

“caring for the house, working at home, keeping a home and taking care of household affairs, domestic”

If that isn’t clear then I don’t know what is.

This is evident in the proverbs 31 woman, who is an example of a true Godly woman. Take some time to read proverbs 31 asking God for discernment and I’m sure you will see that she also was a keeper at home.

Now the part that really gets me is the last few works of the texts which says… that the word of god be not blasphemed.

Blasphemed according to the Greek translation means

“to be evil spoken of, reviled, railed at”

What does this mean? Does it mean that when I am not a keeper at home, when I don’t teach the younger women to be keepers at home, I am allowing the word of God to be evil spoken of….

This is exactly what it says….

Shocking isn’t it…. especially when we live in a world or women working outside of the home. What example are we setting? what example are we following?

Leave a comment